Writer’s block? Surely not.

I started writing a blog post nearly two weeks ago, and thought that I would finish it the next day, but then I got distracted (and also slightly exhausted) by my job, as it seemed to have suddenly got the busiest it has ever been.

Please don’t think that is me complaining though; I love my job more than ever at the moment. I have been running a debating club with some of the lower school, and I was little nervous they would be bored or not want to do the activities I had set, but they were all absolutely fantastic. They were all so enthusiastic and bubbly. As for a GCSE general studies class I teach – well, they are just brilliant, and I’m feeling very much in my element at the front of the classroom. I’ve done so much photocopying for all my students though, blimey. Killed way too many trees (I’m sorry, Loz x).

So other than my busy life recently, why haven’t I posted? Lack of motivation? Slightly. But mainly I actually struggled to write about my few days away down south a little (a lot).

After Cardiff, I went to see some friends who live just outside of London and I have just felt a little overwhelmed about writing a post. It wasn’t like we were doing stuff non-stop or anything, I just couldn’t quite work out how to write a post that would make little sense to those not involved.
Don’t get me wrong, we did do lots and lots of lovely things, but in a way I didn’t feel like writing about every single thing, as some of the funniest and best moments of that trip, were when I was just sat around with my friends having a giggle. I don’t get to see them very much, and the last time I saw them in person was over a year ago, so every time we meet up is always fun no matter what we do. I just love them all lots. I have known them since I was about 6, and to me, they are like my family (I know Mel will read this and go aw).
So what I’m really trying to say is yes, we went to London for a day. And it was fab. And yes, we saw a film. And it was cool. And yes, I went to a Halloween party. And it was a laugh. But the things that were the highlights for me, aren’t something that I can write about exactly. How do you articulate inside jokes, sitting round and catching up… And make it cohesive for someone who wasn’t there?
But again, maybe that isn’t the point. I write for me, I write because I love writing and this a diary of my gap year.

Still struggling though.

So here is what I’m going to do. I’m going to write a post about my trip. I’m going to get it done. I can’t promise it will be inspirational, but if I don’t do it, I’ll be stuck forever.

I’m also going to write to baking recipes. And talk about the play I saw recently. Maybe I’ll even write about this weekend. Phewf. I have a lot of catching up to do. My friend is much better than me, he gets posts up every week, and puts me to shame.

This has just been a spiel of words and thoughts, but bare with me – I’ll get there. I hope everyone is well, and I apologise for my lack of presence on my blog lately. November is looking pretty quiet, isn’t it?

image

As a final note: I left work to this today. It doesn't quite show how lovely it is. I love living by the sea, and working by it even more.

4 thoughts on “Writer’s block? Surely not.

  1. Love this post, because it’s often during the best weeks you have that you can’t find the words to write anything about them. That picture is so nice! I think people forget how nice Southport is regardless of its many charity shops and fast food places.

    Also I feel bad because I forgot to write a post yesterday! Will get to that right now.

    Like

    • Exactly! I just kept trying and failing and then didn’t write at all! But spent the evening making posts last night, so feeling much better!
      I know, I love it, I think we live in such a pretty town, and hillside is so stunning sometimes 🙂

      Haha! I’ve caught you out!!! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

