Cooking (quite badly) time: Bhaji Frittata

I am on a bit of a health kick at the moment, with a mad amount of juicing and salads, and none of that Christmas chocolate I have waiting for me for an occasional treat. To be honest, I’m really enjoying it and isn’t that much of a change to how I ate before, although I have had to think about everything I eat a lot more. But now it is becoming second nature to grab the spinach rather than the biscuits and I am really trying to challenge myself to see how far I can go with this health kick. We even got almond milk.

Today, I bring you a recipe. I must reinstate I am really bad at cooking, and you probably shouldn’t follow anything I say, but this was a bit different and BY GOLLY I WANT TO SHOW IT OFF. So keep reading if you fancy a bhaji frittata…

Bhaji Frittata
It takes about 40 minutes and makes enough for about 5 – 6 people. Or tea and lunch for 3 like we did!

Ingredients:
– 2 onions, thinly sliced
– 1garlic clove, finely chopped
– 2 tsp mild curry powder
– 450g/1lb potatoes, coarsely grated and excess liquid squeezed out
– 6 medium eggs, beaten
– 100 g/4oz frozen pease

To serve:
– Mango chutney
– Mixed salad leaves
– Cherry tomatoes
– Brown rice

Method:
1. Heat oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6.
2. Heat the oil in an ovenproof frying pan and fry the onion for about 10 minutes over a medium heat until golden.

image

3. Whilst they are cooking, prepare your potatoes and garlic. Grating potatoes is a weird experience. Also start cooking your brown rice cause it takes agesss.

image

4. Add the garlic and curry powder, and cook for 1-2 minutes.

image

5. Next, add the grated potatoes and cook for 5-8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Make sure they soften and turn golden in patches.
6. Season your eggs, and prepare your salad. I am boring and just like mixed leaves with chopped up cherry tomatoes, but do whatever you fancy.

image

image

7. Pour your eggs into the pan with the peas, and swirl it around to coat the potato mixture. Try not to get it everywhere (I did). Cook for 1 minute more.

image

8. Transfer to the oven for 10 minutes until the eggs have set. Then get your mango chutney and brown rice ready, and set the table (I took a picture of it, so I just thought I would tell you to. You don’t have to. Eat it in the living room, or outside, or on the ceiling, but that might be a bit messy. Impressive though if you manage it).

image

9. Get the frittata out, and EAT. Woo. We made it!

image

So that is my little recipe. Okay, it was actually a recipe from a BBC goodfood cookbook, I can’t take credit. But the brown rice was totally my own idea. There is a future chef out of me yet.

Enjoy cooking!

2 thoughts on “Cooking (quite badly) time: Bhaji Frittata

Leave a Reply

